Monday, 26 January 2015
Advanced search

Olympic Cauldron, Shard and website among Designs of the Year nominations

Heatherwick Studio’s London 2012 Olympic Cauldron design, Renzo Piano’s Shard tower in London and the new website are among the nominations for the Design Museum’s Designs of the Year Awards.

Renzo Piano's Shard

Renzo Piano’s Shard

A total of 99 nominations have been made, with others on the shortlist including Microsoft’s Windows Phone 8, Irma Boom’s Rijksmuseum identity and Berg’s Little Printer.

Berg's Little Printer

Berg’s Little Printer

The architecture category features The Shard, A Room for London, designed by David Kohn Architects and Fiona Banner, and Beijing’s Galaxy Soho, designed by Zaha Hadid.

In the digital category, projects include the website, designed in-house, Random International’s Rain Room installation and the Windows Phone 8.

Random International's Barbicamn Rain Room

Random International’s Barbican Rain Room

The fashion category features Jacqueline Durran’s costumes for the Anna Karenina film and the Louis Vuitton collection, designed by Yayoi Kusama, while the furniture category boasts Zaha Hadid’s Liquid Glacial Table and Ronan and Erwan Bourellec’s A-Collection.

Graphics features the Zumtobel Annual report, designed by Brighten the Corners and Anish Kapoor, Apfel’s graphics for the Barbican’s Bauhaus exhibition, Irma Boom’s Rijksmuseum identity and the Occupied Times of London, designed by Tzortzis Rallis and Lazaros Kakoulidis.

Apfel's graphics for the Barbican Bauhaus exhibition

Apfel’s graphics for the Barbican Bauhaus exhibition

In the product category the Olympic Cauldron is up against designs including Berg’s Little Printer and Olafur Eliasson’s Little Sun, while the transport category features the London 2012 Olympics wayfinding and BMW’s i3 concept car.

Heatherwick Studio's London 2012 Olympic Cauldron

Heatherwick Studio’s London 2012 Olympic Cauldron

The category winners and overall winner will be announced in April, and a Design Museum exhibition featuring all the nominations opens on 20 March. You can see the full list of nominations here.

Last year’s overall Designs of the Year award winner was Barber Osberby’s London 2012 Olympic Torch.


Have your say


Follow Me on Pinterest

Related images