Future of Design winners named

The winners of the Future of Design Awards Part One have been announced, with 20 design graduates scooping at least £1000 each.

The Business Design Centre, where the awards are held, has puts its name to the New Designer of the Year Award Part One, with Vicky Thompson of Winchester School of Art scooping the award for her foam-knitted-covered chair. Runners up include Darren Wilson of Gray’s School of Art for his castpaper fruit bowl and Johnny Miller of University of Central Lancashire for his flower boxes.

Winners of the remaining Future of Design Awards include Alastair Hamer of Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College, who scooped the ABDS/Argex Future of Design Awards for New Silverware for his interpretation of a spoon sitting in a ceramic bowl (far left); Joanne Ballard of University of Wolverhampton, who won the Bombay Sapphire Future of Design Award for Contemporary Glass for an organic, clear-glass sculpture (left); and Natalie Wain of Edinburgh College of Art, awarded the Crown Wallcoverings Future of Design Award for Design Excellence for her printed textile design.

The Future of Design Awards spotlight 40 winning graduates across all design disciplines as part of the two-week New Designers 2002 showcase for design graduates. The Future of Design Awards Part Two winners are announced on 11 July.

Latest articles