Design Week Awards 2018 judges announced…

Find out who we’ve selected to be part of our panel of more than 20 expert judges and remember you have until 27 March to enter the Design Week Awards.

With the Design Week Awards judging day just around the corner, we’re happy to announce the names making up this year’s independent judging panel, which includes client side and in-house experts from across the industry.

IKEA, NB Studio, Jason Bruges Studio

They include NB Studio creative director Alan Dye, who will be judging within the Communications section, where he’ll be joined by Riposte Magazine designer Shaz Madani and many others, who between them will be looking at eight categories including identity design, brand campaigns, writing for design and editorial design.

Ikea interior design lead Clotilde Passalacqua by © Joel Chant

In the Spaces section we’ve got Ikea’s interior design leader Clotilde Passalacqua alongside Dalziel and Pow design director Richard Bennett and others who will be looking at categories including hospitality and workplace interiors, retail interiors and exhibition design.

Dedicated digital judging venue

This year we’re taking digital judging offsite and have teamed up with Engage Works which will host categories such as AR and VR,  website design, app design, and TV, film and video graphics within its Flux innovation lounge, which is a dedicated testing space for the latest tech, robotics and platforms.

Jason Bruges of Jason Bruges Studio

We’ve assembled a team of digital judges and among them are digital installation expert Jason Bruges, Ustwo design director Helen Fuchs, and Guardian design director Ben Longden.

The Product and furniture section will see Made’s design director Ruth Wassermann judging with Quaterre partner Daniele Ceccomori and others.

Ruth Wassermann, design director, Made

There’s a social design category, which will be judged by the Royal College of Art’s Rhama Gheerawo, who is director of the Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design who is an expert inclusive design and design for good.

Rama Gheerawo, director of Helen Hamlyn Centre, RCA

More than 20 judges will be looking at your work and ensuring that we’re rewarding design excellence across the board. This year there’s a great balance of old hands and younger designers who already have a lot of experience under their belt.

The Rising Star category recognises the design stars of tomorrow, is free to enter and gets young designers in front of some of the biggest names in the industry.

There’s still time to enter the awards. Entries close on 27 March and you can find out more here.

Judging panel:

Emma Follett, deputy chief creative officer at Design Bridge

Greg Bunbury, founder Bunbury Creative

Joanna Arscott, independent creative lead and strategist

Jesse Boyce, creative director, Touch Note

Alan Dye, creative director, NB Studio

Samuel Mensah, creative director SM Studios

Sarah Boris, Sarah Boris Studio

Sam Stone, creative director Coley Porter Bell

Shaz Madani, editorial designer, Riposte Magazine

Pali Palavathanan, creative director, TEMPLO

Clotilde Passalacqua, IKEA interior design leader

Lucienne Roberts, founder GraphicDesign&

Pippa Nissen, founder Nissen Richard Studio

Richard Bennett, design director, Dalziel and Pow

Tessa Simpson, design director, O Street

Jason Bruges, founder, Jason Bruges Studio

Helen Fuchs, design director, Ustwo

Aporva Baxi, Co-founder, Dixon Baxi

Ben Longden, digital design director, Guardian News and Media

Ruth Wassermann, design director, Made

Daniele Ceccomori, partner, Quarterre

Rama Gheerawo, director of Helen Hamlyn Centre, RCA


Hide Comments (1)Show Comments (1)
  • design ltd March 14, 2018 at 3:40 am


  • Post a comment

Latest articles