New members for Design Council

The Design Council has four new members from the business community: Peter Davies, director of research and technology organisation Pera Technology; Brian Godbold, design director of Marks and Spencer; John Hazelwood, chairman of the West of England Development Agency; and Roger Lyons, general secretary of the Manufacturing, Science and Finance Union. Each is on a two-year contract.

They replace Will Alsop, Sir Ernest Hall and Helen Auty, whose contracts have ended. The council now has 15 members. It aims at between 15 and 18.

The new position of director of business and research will be advertised soon, says chief executive Andrew Summers. This is a restructured position following the resignation of Dr Angela Dumas as director of research last summer (DW 6 June 1997).

Meanwhile, head of corporate affairs Martin Brown has been made director with particular responsibility for Government.

Start the discussionStart the discussion
  • Post a comment

Latest articles