Stars of screen and McQueen in CSD shortlist

Eight designers have been shortlisted for the Chartered Society of Designers’ Designer of the Year Award, run in conjunction with the Design Council.

Film title sequences proved popular with the shortlisting panel of designers and business people, chaired by BBC head of corporate and brand design Tony Key. Tomato’s Jason Kedgley and Dylan Kendle make the final for Trainspotting, along with US designer Kyle Cooper for his work on the thriller Seven.

Vince Frost is shortlisted for his graphic design of Big Magazine and The Independent Magazine. And Dolphin duo Rob Petrie and Phil Sims earn their place in the final with their identity and packaging work for Liverpool club Cream.

Bridge designer Chris Wilkinson is on the shortlist. His credits include Hulme Bridge in Manchester, currently under construction. Fashion designer Alexander McQueen completes the roll-call of finalists.

CSD members are now being asked to vote for their choice. The winner will be announced at the Design Council Awards Dinner on 31 October.

Start the discussionStart the discussion
  • Post a comment

Latest articles