Prince Philip design prize-winners for 2002 named

The winners of the Prince Philip Designers Prize 2002 were announced last week, with special commendations awarded to John McConnell and product designer Tom Karen.

Professor Geoff Kirk, who was chief design engineer at Rolls Royce, was awarded the main prize for his work in the field of aero-engine design. Other finalists were furniture designer Michael Marriot, architect Edward Cullinan and Identica founder Michael Peters.

McConnell, who worked with Boots for over 20 years, helped shape the retailer’s identity and strategic direction and is also renowned for his designs for iconic 1960s fashion label Biba.

Karen is the product designer who created the Raleigh Chopper and helped place safety concerns at the centre of automotive design by instigating the use of crash-test dummies.

Judges for this year’s award included Design Council chairman Sir Christopher Frayling, Jane Priestman and Stephen Hitchins.

Latest articles