Student prize is a prototype

The Worshipful Company of Furniture Makers has changed its policy for this year’s Design Prize. Instead of giving cash awards to winning students, it favours prototyping designs.

“This year we decided to put the money into prototyping the winning objects. It’s far more constructive for the students,” says a WCFM spokeswoman.

Two Royal College of Art students, Abigail Turner and Steffen Kaz, each received 300, the funds left over after prototyping. Seven students in total had their designs prototyped, but only Turner and Kaz received cash as they were judged the best.

Prototypes were also made for designs by Andrea Nechels of Kingston University, Michael Matthews and Bryan Johnson of Parnham College, Stuart Lawson of Brighton University and Nicolas Rapp of Ravensbourne College. Colleges selected and nominated students.

Latest articles