Dyson Awards longlist unveiled

The longlist has been unveiled for this year’s Dyson Awards, sponsored by Sir James Dyson.

A total of 184 projects from around the world have been shortlisted for the award, which carries £20 000 in prize money.

The ten UK projects shortlisted are: The Contortionist by Dominic Hargreaves from the Royal College of Art; the UK Folding Plug by Min-Kyu Choi at the RCA; Automist by Yusuf Muhammed at the RCA; Sting by Chris Natt at Brunel University; and Crossbread Folding Wheels by Duncan Fitzsimmons at the RCA.

Endotrachial Pressure Alert by Jude Pullen at Glasgow School of Art; Clip to Clip by Ben Thomson at the University of Sussex; Squese by Katrien Ploegmakers at the RCA; Detaching defecting mattress by Grace Davey at the RCA; Patient link by Nicola Sheargold at the University of Central Lancashire; and Peepo GPS by Jason Perkins at the University of Wales Institute Cardiff, make up the UK shortlist.

Perkins’ Peepo GPS design, which is designed for blind people who use seeing-eye dogs, also won the People’s Choice Award, voted for by the British public.

Dyson engineers are currently rating the 184 international projects to whittle them down to a second shortlist of 20, which will be announced on 11 August. The winner will be announced on 7 September.

Middlesex University student Michael Chen won last year, with his Reactiv cycling jacket that uses motion-sensing lights to show when the cyclist is braking or turning.

Latest articles