Artists chosen to design 2012 Olympic posters

A group of 12 artists has been selected to design the official posters for the London 2012 Olympics.

The artists are: Fiona Banner, Michael Craig-Martin, Martin Creed, Tracey Emin, Anthea Hamilton, Howard Hodgkin, Gary Hume, Sarah Morris, Chris Ofili, Bridget Riley, Bob and Roberta Smith and Rachel Whiteread.

The posters will be shown at a free exhibition at Tate Britain as part of the Olympics and will also go on sale in the autumn.

The posters are being created as part of the Cultural Olympiad – a series of cultural events that will run across the UK ahead of and in conjunction with the Olympics.

Cultural Olympiad events are set to conclude with the London 2012 festival, which will run from 21 June to 9 September and will feature work by artists, musicians and film directors including Olafur Eliasson, Mike Leigh and Damon Albarn.

Lord Coe, chairman of London 2012, says, ‘We always said that the culture programme would be part of the London 2012 experience. What you can see today is even more evidence that the London 2012 Festival programme for next year will showcase the incredible creative talent we have here in the UK.’

Hide Comments (1)Show Comments (1)
  • Brendan Martin November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

    Great for these artists but…Why no leading graphic designers? Don’t we have brilliant poster designers in this country? have graphic designers been dropped from the Olympic program after the logo debacle? Shame.

  • Post a comment

Latest articles