Heatherwick and Sorrell to judge 2009 Stirling Prize

Thomas Heatherwick and Sir John Sorrell, chairman of the Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment, have been named as judges for the 2009 Stirling Prize, which is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year.

They will be joined on the jury, which is yet to be finalised, by architects Edward Jones, from Dixon Jones, and Sam Jacob from FAT.

The 103 winners of the Royal Institute of British Architects’ 2009 RIBA Awards, which is effectively the shortlist for the Stirling Prize, have also been named.

Winning buildings include: Castleford Bridge, by McDowell & Benedetti; the Long Barn Studio, by Nicolas Tye Architects; Falmouth School and Design & Technology Building, by Urban Salon; and Lumen URC and Community Centre, by Theis and Khan Architects.

RIBA president Sunand Prasad says, ‘The RIBA Awards are a thermometer to indicate the state of health of British architecture and for 2009 the results are good. Both quality and quantity have been maintained.

‘This year’s list accurately reflects both the diversity, and the workload of UK architecture, with more schools and health buildings than usual winning awards.’

The Stirling Prize will be awarded at a ceremony in London on 17 October.

For more information visit www.architecture.com.

Start the discussionStart the discussion
  • Post a comment

Latest articles