Olympic Cauldron, Shard and gov.uk website among Designs of the Year nominations

Heatherwick Studio’s London 2012 Olympic Cauldron design, Renzo Piano’s Shard tower in London and the new gov.uk website are among the nominations for the Design Museum’s Designs of the Year Awards.

Renzo Piano's Shard
Renzo Piano’s Shard

A total of 99 nominations have been made, with others on the shortlist including Microsoft’s Windows Phone 8, Irma Boom’s Rijksmuseum identity and Berg’s Little Printer.

Berg's Little Printer
Berg’s Little Printer

The architecture category features The Shard, A Room for London, designed by David Kohn Architects and Fiona Banner, and Beijing’s Galaxy Soho, designed by Zaha Hadid.

In the digital category, projects include the gov.uk website, designed in-house, Random International’s Rain Room installation and the Windows Phone 8.

Random International's Barbicamn Rain Room
Random International’s Barbican Rain Room

The fashion category features Jacqueline Durran’s costumes for the Anna Karenina film and the Louis Vuitton collection, designed by Yayoi Kusama, while the furniture category boasts Zaha Hadid’s Liquid Glacial Table and Ronan and Erwan Bourellec’s A-Collection.

Graphics features the Zumtobel Annual report, designed by Brighten the Corners and Anish Kapoor, Apfel’s graphics for the Barbican’s Bauhaus exhibition, Irma Boom’s Rijksmuseum identity and the Occupied Times of London, designed by Tzortzis Rallis and Lazaros Kakoulidis.

Apfel's graphics for the Barbican Bauhaus exhibition
Apfel’s graphics for the Barbican Bauhaus exhibition

In the product category the Olympic Cauldron is up against designs including Berg’s Little Printer and Olafur Eliasson’s Little Sun, while the transport category features the London 2012 Olympics wayfinding and BMW’s i3 concept car.

Heatherwick Studio's London 2012 Olympic Cauldron
Heatherwick Studio’s London 2012 Olympic Cauldron

The category winners and overall winner will be announced in April, and a Design Museum exhibition featuring all the nominations opens on 20 March. You can see the full list of nominations here.

Last year’s overall Designs of the Year award winner was Barber Osberby’s London 2012 Olympic Torch.


Hide Comments (1)Show Comments (1)
  • Icecteladvats November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

    and it’s the only one that is truly evilyou say a caring, compassionate,her you will want to invite her back again and again In fact,!

  • Post a comment

Latest articles