The Art Fund Prize ‘museum of the year’ shortlist announced

The four-strong shortlist has been announced for this year’s Art Fund Prize, which awards £100,000 to the ‘museum of the year’.

The prize recognises excellence in museum and gallery exhibition design and refurbishment completed in the previous year.

Hepworth Wakefield

Source: © Iwan Baan

Hepworth Wakefield

The shortlisted museums and galleries are:

The Hepworth Wakefield, West Yorkshire, by David Chipperfield Architects;

• Royal Albert Memorial Museum and Art Gallery, Exeter, by Allies and Morrison;

The Scottish National Portrait Gallery Edinburgh, redeveloped by Page Park; and

• Watts Gallery, Guildford, restoration by ZMMA.

Royal Albert Memorial Museum
Royal Albert Memorial Museum

Stephen Deuchar, Art Fund director, says, ‘Taken together, these four terrific institutions offer the perfect snapshot of the best of our museums and galleries – dynamic, forward‐thinking, inclusive and diverse.’

Scottish National Portrait Gallery

Source: © National Galleries of Scotland

Scottish National Portrait Gallery

The five projects shortlisted for the £10,000 Clore Award for Museum Learning 2012 have also been announced. They are:

• Camden Arts Centre, Get The Message;

• Florence Nightingale Museum, Our Generation’s Re-interpretation;

• Leicestershire County Council Heritage and Arts Service, Held in the Hand and Touch Tables;

• The Whitworth Art Gallery, The Manchester Early Years Partnership; and

• Yorkshire Museum, Celebrating Severus.

The winners of the Art Fund Prize and Clore Award will be announced on 19 June at the British Museum and live on BBC Radio 4 Front Row.

Watts Gallery

Source: ©Arcaid Images / Richard Bryant

Watts Gallery

Latest articles