Neville Brody, Peter Saville and Michael Wolff among Royal Designers for Industry

Neville Brody, Peter Saville, and Michael Wolff are among six new Royal Designers for Industry, an honour awarded by the Royal Society for Arts.

They are joined by Margaret Calvert, Andy Cameron and textile designer Mary Restieaux, while Canadian designer Bruce Mau is being named as an honorary RDI.

This year is the 75th anniversary of the RSA’s Royal Designers for Industry awards, which ‘honour designers of excellence and promote the important contribution of design in manufacturing and industry.’

Matthew Taylor, chief executive of the RSA, says, ‘As an organisation we are committed to encouraging and rewarding outstanding designers who challenge convention and improve our quality of life.

‘The work of these seven individuals is varied but they share a common link of having made a significant benefit to society as well as demonstrating design excellence.’

Dinah Casson, director of Casson Mann, is taking over as master of the faculty of Royal Designers for Industry. She replaces Robin Levien, who took over the post in 2009.

Latest articles