New name for Gulbenkian Prize

Writer and broadcaster Sue MacGregor is to chair the judging panel of the Art Fund Prize for museums and galleries.

The £100 000 prize is open to all museums and galleries in the UK and is intended to recognise and stimulate originality and excellence in museums.

This is the first time art charity the Art Fund has sponsored the coveted prize, formerly The Gulbenkian Prize.

A longlist will be announced on 1 February 2008, followed by a shortlist in April and the announcement of the winner on 22 May 2008 at a ceremony at the Royal Institute of British Architects, Portland Place, London W1.

As well as a cheque, the winning gallery holds the prize bowl, by artist Vladimir Böhm, for one year.

The judging panel comprises Keith Khan, head of culture for the London 2012 Olympic Games and Paralympic Games; Diane Lees, director of the Victoria & Albert Museum of Childhood; Christopher Lloyd CVO, former surveyor of The Queen’s pictures; Dr Mark Miodownik, head of Materials Research Group, King’s College, London; Maggie Semple OBE, chief executive of The Experience Corps; and Emma Soames, editor of Saga Magazine.

Start the discussionStart the discussion
  • Post a comment

Latest articles