Shortlist unveiled for Prince Philip design prize

Graphic designers Neville Brody and Margaret Calvert, furniture designer John Makepeace and industrial designer Bill Moggridge are all in the running for this year’s Prince Philip Designers Prize.

The Prince Philip Designers Prize, which is in its 51st year, is awarded in recognition of an outstanding contribution to UK business and society through design.
Brody, who is this week named as a member of the D&AD executive committee, is also curating the Anti Design Festival, which runs in conjunction with the London Design Festival (see ADF supplement in this issue).

Calvert worked on the signage systems for Britain’s first motorways and also developed the Calvert font.

Makepeace has been developing furniture designs since the 1960s, as well as running his own college of furniture design and manufacturing, while Moggridge is director of the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum in New York, designed the first laptop computer and is a co-founder of consultancy Ideo.

The other names on the shortlist are: architects Zaha Hadid and Eva Jiricna; Christopher Bailey, chief creative director of fashion label Burberry; Formula 1 engineering designer Adrian Newey; and fashion designer Dame Vivienne Westwood.

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced on 9 November by Prince Philip at a ceremony at the Design Council.

David Kester, chief executive of the Design Council, says, ’This year’s nominees demonstrate the extraordinary breadth and versatility of Britain’s design talent, from the fearless avant-gardists to world-class technologists and engineers, and those whose commercial genius drives our economic success.’

The shortlist is selected from nominations from Arts Council England, the British Fashion Council, the Chartered Society of Designers, the Design Business Association, D&AD, the Design Museum, the Institute of Engineering, the Royal College of Art, the Royal Institute of British Architects and the Royal Society of Arts.

The judging panel will be led by Prince Philip and will also feature: Design Council chairman Lord Bichard; Graham Cartledge, chairman of architect Benoy; Peter Head, director of engineer Arup; Robin Levien, master of the Royal Designers for Industry, Chris Ramsden, president of the Chartered Society of Designers; and Richard Williams of Williams Murray Hamm.

Judging will take into account contributions to the perception of design by industry and the public; and to the status of designers; influence on design standards and trends; records of successful design for consumer and industrial products or buildings; originality of concepts; aesthetic quality of designs; quality of designs; and contribution to design education.

Previous winners
2009 – Andrew Ritchie

2008 – Max Fordham

2007 – David Gentleman

2006 – Thomas Heatherwick

2005 – Derek Birdsall

Latest articles