RCA appoints architecture and fine art deans in school structure overhaul

The Royal College of Art has appointed Alex de Rijke as its dean of architecture and Ute Mata Bauer as its dean of fine art as it prepares to implement its new academic structure.

The RCA announced earlier this year that it was looking to put in place a new structure, which would see the seven current schools brought down to six, with a dean leading each school.

Neville Brody is leading the School of Communication, Dale Harrow is leading the School of Design, Wendy Dagworthy is leading the School of Material and Jane Pavitt is leading the School of Humanities.

De Rijke and Bauer complete the line-up. De Rijke will join in January 2012 and Bauer in September 2012.

De Rijke’s newly-formed School of Architecture will host the RCA’s reinstated masters in interiors course, which will relaunch in Autumn 2012. The course is returning as a standalone subject after earlier being absorbed into the architecture course.

De Rijke, who is founding director of architect dRMM, says, ‘I am proposing that architecture and interiors at the new school are studied in the global context of new sustainable materials and manufacturing processes, as a remit and broad parameter for creative study and research.’

Bauer, who is professor and director of MIT’s visual arts programme, says, ‘I look forward to encouraging stronger collaborations between the four art programmes, fostering research initiatives in the field and envisioning new directions with [RCA rector] Dr Paul Thompson and my colleagues within the school.’

Latest articles