Finals for Oxo/ Peugeot Awards

A list of 12 designers and craftsmen has been shortlisted from a total of 300 entries in the second Oxo/ Peugeot Design Awards, which will be presented in London on 12 July.

Nominees have been selected from five categories – ceramics and glass, domestic metalware and silversmithing, furniture, lighting, and textiles – by a judging panel which includes Ron Arad and writer Hugh Pearman. Prize money of £25 000 will be distributed among the winners.

The final shortlist for furniture comprises Martin Avery, Carl Clerkin, Michael Sodeau and El Ultimo Grito for their Chest of Drawers, Bucket Seat, Wing Unit and What Goes Down Must Come Up laundry basket, respectively.

For ceramics and glass the shortlisted nominations are Mark Boase for the Noodle Bowl and Tavs Jorgensen for the Dip Bowl and the U Cup.

In the lighting category the only nomination is Hector Serrano for his La Senora Potato lamp, and for the metalware category the sole shortlisted nomination is for Gusto Design’s Sticklebook bookshelves.

The textiles category sees shortlisted entries for Maria Livesey, Alexandra Eton and Deborah Bowness and their pieces, which are, respectively: Silicone Relief Stretch, Origami Folded Cashmere Wraps, and Hooks and Frocks personalised wallpaper.

All the work is on display to the public from 23 June at the Oxo gallery in central London, before going on tour nationally to Edinburgh, Newcastle, Belfast, Cardiff and Leeds.

Start the discussionStart the discussion
  • Post a comment

Latest articles