Deutsche Börse shortlist unveiled

The shortlist for The Photographers’ Gallery’s fifteenth annual Deutsche Börse Photography Prize has been announced.

The four shortlisted artists are Thomas Demand (Germany), for his exhibition at Berlin’s Neue Nationalgalerie; Jim Goldberg (USA), for his exhibition at London’s Photographers’ Gallery; Roe Ethridge (USA), for his exhibition at Les Recontres d’Arles Photography 2010, France and Elad Lassry (Israel) for his exhibition Elad Lassry at Kunsthalle Zürich.

The winner of the  £30,000 prize will be announced at an awards ceremony on Tuesday 26 April 2011.

This year’s Jury is Alex Farquharson, director at Nottingham Contemporary; Marloes Krijnen, founding director of Foam Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam; US artist Joel Sternfeld; and Anne-Marie Beckmann, curator of Art Collection Deutsche. Brett Rogers, Director of The Photographers’ Gallery, is the non-voting Chair.

Alexandra Hachmeister, head of corporate responsibility for Deutsche Börse, says, ‘the jury members have selected four very strong finalists, varying in age and nationality as well as in their technique, subject matter and approach.

‘All of them reflect the aims of the Prize, being an international and contemporary award.’

The Prize will be on display throughout April 2011 at the University of Westminster, London, as The Photographers’ Gallery is currently closed for  redevelopment until Autumn 2011.

Latest articles