Digital body announces Webby prize winners

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, organiser of the annual Webby Awards, has released advanced details of this year’s winners to be honoured at a ceremony due to take place in New York on 5 June.

The BBC picks up an award for best news website, while the Guardian Unlimited has beaten competition including The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal to scoop first prize for the best newspaper website. UK group Poke takes top prize in the banking and bill-paying section for its work for Zopa.

Tribal DDB, Farfar, Crispin, Porter & Bogusky, Euro RSCG, Forsman & Bodenfors and Goodby are just some of the digital consultancies that will pick up multiple awards at the 11th Webby ceremony. Other sections include interactive advertising and mobile.

This year, a new on-line film and video category has been created to reward excellence in disciplines such as on-line animation. The film and video winners will be honoured in a separate ceremony, taking place on 4 June.

The Simpson’s creator Matt Groening, Arianna Huffington, Vinton Cerf and Harvey Weinstein are among the 550-strong Webby ‘judging academy’.

Start the discussionStart the discussion
  • Post a comment

Latest articles