B is for Book

The second batch in the Penguin Drop Caps series is being released in the UK, bringing further typographic treats for book fans.

Drop Caps

The series will comprise 26 hardcover classics, with each cover showcasing an illustrated letter for each author’s surname (A for Austen, B for Bronte etc).

The series is art directed by Penguin art director with typography from Jessica Hische (so it’s predictably great).

A, B and C were released in the UK last year, and now it’s the turn of D-L (with a couple of exceptions due to UK licensing issues.)  

The Drop Caps are stylistically varied, occasionally literal (notably with the bees in Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees) and gorgeously foil-stamped.

Herman Melville’s Moby Dick and Edith Nesbit’s Five Children and It are set to be published in October – while O-Z have yet to be announced.

The Penguin Drop Caps series is published by Penguin Books USA and distributed in the UK by Turnaround, priced at £13.99 each.

Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice
Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice

Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre
Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre

Willa Cather's My Antonia
Willa Cather’s My Antonia

Charles Dickens's Great Expectations
Charles Dickens’s Great Expectations

George Eliot's Middlemarch
George Eliot’s Middlemarch

Gustave Flaubert's Madame Bovary
Gustave Flaubert’s Madame Bovary

James Joyce's A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
James Joyce’s A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

Chang-Rae Lee's Native Speaker
Chang-Rae Lee’s Native Speaker

Hide Comments (1)Show Comments (1)
  • Mike Dempsey November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am


  • Post a comment

Latest articles