Dunne & Raby and John Makepeace among Prince Philip Designers Prize nominees

The Chartered Society of Designers prize, which disappeared for five years, announces its return with a shortlist of nominees.


The Chartered Society of Designers has announced its nominees for the 2016 edition of the Prince Philip Designers Prize, which was revived in 2015 after closing down in 2011.

The Prize is awarded to a British designer “whose exemplary work has influenced the perception of design by the public and accordingly elevated the status of designers in society,” and among the nominees this year are designers and artists Anthony Dunne and Fiona Raby and furniture designer John Makepeace.

The prize has previously been given to James Dyson (1997), Terence Conran (2003), and most recently Quentin Blake, who received the last prize before it was terminated in 2011. Whoever wins this year will be the first to do so since the prize’s revival. The Design Council ran the prize from 1959 to 2011 and the Chartered Society of Designers revived it last year.

“A new chapter”

Peter Bosso, the president of the Chartered Society of Designers, says: “We are delighted that this new chapter in the history of the Prize opens with such an outstanding list of nominees representing so many different aspects of design and we are honoured to be taking over the reigns of this longstanding and prestigious prize”.

The nominees are chosen annually by organisations which work within their design sector, on the basis that they as designers have achieved at the highest level and made an outstanding lifetime contribution to design.

Makepeace, who was nominated by the Worshipful Company of Furniture Makers, is a British design veteran whose career has spanned over 50 years. The Worshipful Company calls him the foremost bespoke furniture designer of his generation, and also points out that “his contribution to nurturing students of furniture design has been immense.”


Makepeace says he is “excited to have been nominated” and adds “Designing furniture to commission makes it possible for me to respond more precisely to specific situations. While the results are rarely seen by a wide audience, the nomination recognises what is happening beyond the public and media gaze.” 

The Arts Council England chose to nominate Fiona Raby & Anthony Dunne, whose collaborative work uses design as a medium to stimulate discussion and debate among designers, as well as the industry and the public, about how existing and emerging technologies come with social, cultural and ethical implications. The duo established their own studio in 1994 and also set up the Design Interactions programme at the Royal College of Art. “We’re surprised and very honoured”, the duo says of the nomination.


Manufacturers organisation EEF nominated Ian Callum RDI and Gerry McGovern, design directors of Jaguar Land Rover. Architect and founding partner of Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, Peter Clegg RDI, was nominated by the Royal Institute of British Architects, while fashion designer Hussein Chalayan was nominated by the British Fashion Council. The Chartered Society of Designers itself nominated the late Dame Zaha Hadid, the architect who was the first woman to win the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2004.

The 2016 Prince Philip Designers Prize winner will be announced on 8 June at an evening reception hosted by the Duke of Edinburgh.The CSD will also be launching “The Prince Philip Student Design Awards” in 2017, which is aimed at those embarking on a career in design.

Hide Comments (3)Show Comments (3)
  • John Dunne June 7, 2016 at 1:09 pm

    And the Guys name is Anthony Dunne with out the H Antony is my middle name.

  • John Dunne June 7, 2016 at 1:21 pm

    I would love to win that award under my full name John Antony Dunne as a designer myself. strange that my first middle and last name appear in this article but it is not me.

  • Maxine Horn June 8, 2016 at 12:29 pm

    All very worthy candidates – it will be hard to choose the winner, they are all winners but I know who my money is on.

  • Post a comment

Latest articles